WSOP: 40 Brazilians Advance on Day 1D of the Main Event

WSOP: Vitor Coutinho, Lucas Scafini and Cauê Moura...

Event #72 – The opening day of the $10,000 WSOP Main Event is over. The final chance to play in the first blind of the year’s biggest tournament comes on Thursday on Day 1D.

A historical record that had stood since 2006 was also broken on this day. With 4,100 entrants on Day 1D, the Main Event attracted 9,337 entrants, easily breaking the 17-year mark of 8,773 entrants. That number is expected to grow as Day 2ABC and 2D continue to offer entries. A total of 3,208 players qualified for the tournament, including 40 Brazilians.

Leading the lead was Leonardo Nogueira, who turned 60,000 chips into 144,500. It was followed by the Hilton Laborda. The 2011 WSOP top player in Brazil, Amazonian, scored 141,600 points.

Vitor Coutinho (119,900), Lucian Silveira (111,600), Lucas Scafini (108,200), Gualter Fortuna (106,400), Pedro Mendes (105,700) also got bigger. YouTuber and 888poker ambassador Cauê Moura made his Main Event debut with 104,800 chips.

Learn more: Streaming for the WSOP, donating $200 to over 140 people and attracting attention World’s Greatest YouTuber

Overall The chip leader is Nicholas Rigby. The Americans took 408,800 prisoners. Chris Hunichen (321,200), Chance Kornuth (241,500), Scott Nguyen (221,000) and Phil Hellmuth (105,800) were among the leaders.

Day 2D will start this Saturday (08) at 4pm (Brasilia time) Blinds are back to 400/800, Big Blind Ante.

Check Brazil chip count:

Leonardo Nogueira 144,500

Hilton Laboda 141,600

Vito Coutinho 119,900

Lucien Silveira 111,600

Lucas Scaffini 108,200

Goult Sales 106,400

Pedro Mendez 105,700Kaumola 104,800

Vito Bengozzi 104,500

Pedro Barossi 104,300

Frederico Doneras 102,000

Joseph Bloom Pacheco 100,800

Joao Valli 97,100

Francisco Baruffi 92,300

Luis Miranda Diaz 92,000

Marcelo Drum 88,300

Gustavo Gazzoni 87,300

Ender Lie Cabrini 83,700

Marcos Extecote 81,000

Jonathan Walter 78,500

Enrique Batista 60,800

Laura Sintra 58,700

Marcelo Lanza 55,600

Andrea Lichtenstein 55,100

Vinicius Perry 50,400

Francisco Correa 48,000

Wellington Ferreira 47,500

Ed Cruz 45,500

Fred Dabbs 42,800

Gustavo Hess 40,400

Fernando Vitwivin 37,500

Ferli Pe de Paul 35,500

Rodrigo Motoki 34,700

Thiago Franco 31.00

Paolo Joanello 30,600

Louis Kame 25,400

Alison Pikazevic 20,100

Adnan Yahya 18,600

Rafael Reis 14,500Gustavo Kamei 10,500

WSOP: Vitor Coutinho, Lucas Scafini and Cauê Moura...

© 2023. All rights reserved.